Staff & Department Directory

Toll Free in Ohio
A toll free number is available from within Ohio only to reach the  State Library in Columbus:  800-686-1532

State Librarian’s Office

The State Librarian’s Office supports the State Librarian in many roles such as serving as the Secretary of the State Library Board, administering the State Library, executing the policies of the Board, being a liaison with the Ohio Legislature and the Ohio congressional delegation, monitoring legislation of interest to the State Library and Ohio libraries in general, advocating on behalf of all Ohio libraries, leading and partnering in the development of library services throughout Ohio, promoting and enabling resource sharing among libraries and library networks, providing access to information for state agencies and partnering with them to enhance services, and promoting virtual services to Ohio’s residents.

Name Title Phone Email

Beverly Cain

Agency Director & State Librarian

(614) 644-6843 bcain@library.ohio.gov
  William “Bill” Morris Governmental Affairs Coordinator (614) 728-5118 wmorris@library.ohio.gov
Julia Ward Executive Secretary to the State Librarian (614) 644-6847 jward@library.ohio.gov

Marketing and Communications

Marketing and Communications provides communications, marketing, and promotional media for all departments within the State Library.

Name Title Phone Email
Marsha McDevitt-Stredney Director, Marketing & Communications
and Public Information Officer
 (614) 644-6875 marshams@library.ohio.gov

Employee Services

Employees Services administers personnel for the agency and consults with State Library managers to fairly recruit, retain, and engage employees.

Name Title Phone Email
Stephanie Herriott
Manager, Employee Services (614) 644-7066 sherriott@library.ohio.gov
Ashleigh Conkey  HCM Senior Analyst (614) 369-4488 aconkey@library.ohio.gov

Fiscal Services

Fiscal Services is responsible for budgeting, payroll, accounts payable, accounts receivable, inventory, purchasing, and financial reporting for all departments of the State Library. Fiscal Services also serves as the agency liaison with other state agencies such as the Office of Budget & Management, Treasurer of State, Auditor of State and various departments within the Department of Administrative Services.

Name Title Phone Email
Jamie Pardee Fiscal Services Manager, Fiscal Services (614) 644-6879 jpardee@library.ohio.gov
Anne Libby Program Administrator (614) 466-7859 alibby@library.ohio.gov
Allison Hoggatt Accounting Specialist (614) 466-1074 ahoggatt@library.ohio.gov
Joan Sharp Accounting Specialist (614) 995-5910 jsharp@library.ohio.gov

Transport and Facility Services

The Transport & Facility Services Department is an internal support group for the State Library of Ohio providing Mail Center & courier operations, State Library facility coordination & management, fleet management operations and Statewide Delivery System (SDS) coordination & project management.

Name Title Phone Email
Steve Updegraff Manager, Transport & Facility Services (614) 728-9573  supdegra@library.ohio.gov
Kenny Lawson Delivery Worker (614) 644-6893  klawson@library.ohio.gov
Mike Moyer Delivery Worker (614) 644-6893  mmoyer@library.ohio.gov

Library Programs and Development

Library Programs and Development is charged with providing leadership and partnership in the development of library services throughout Ohio. Major department programs include consultant services, special projects, public library statistics and the federal LSTA grant program.

Name Title Phone Email

Missy Lodge

Associate State Librarian for Library Development

(614) 644-6914  mlodge@library.ohio.gov
Cindy Boyden Library Consultant – LSTA (614) 644-6863 cboyden@library.ohio.gov
Greggory Gassman Library Assistant (614) 644-6889 ggassman@library.ohio.gov
Lisa Hickle State Data Coordinator – Public Library Statistics (614) 644-6920 lhickle@library.ohio.gov
Janet Ingraham Dwyer Library Consultant – Youth Services (614) 644-6910 jdwyer@library.ohio.gov
Jen Johnson Library Consultant – DPLA/Digitization (614) 728-8319 jjohnson@library.ohio.gov
Anne Kennedy Library Consultant – Library Technology (614) 466-1710  akennedy@library.ohio.gov
Kirstin Krumsee Library Consultant – Government Information (614) 644-6916  kkrumsee@library.ohio.gov
Penelope Shumaker Metadata Librarian (614) 441-0793  pshumaker@library.ohio.gov
Mandy Simon Library Consultant – Library Development (614) 995-0033  msimon@library.ohio.gov
Evan Struble Library Consultant – Library Development (614) 752-9178  estruble@library.ohio.gov

Library Services

Circulation & Special Services: Since 1895, the State Library of Ohio has provided public access to its specialized collections of research books, periodicals, and journals. The State Library assists local libraries with back-up reference services and by filling requests for materials through the interlibrary loan network.

Talking Book Program: The State Library coordinates and funds library service for Ohioans who are print handicapped. The Talking Book Program loans equipment to play the recorded books and magazines obtained from the Ohio Library for the Blind and Physically Disabled in Cleveland.

Research & Catalog Services:  The Research Services Department primarily assists state employees with their research and information needs by answering reference questions, assisting with research strategies and providing outreach and training. Ohio residents are also served, largely through the State Library of Ohio’s status as Ohio’s federal Regional Depository Library. As the federal Regional Depository Library, all Ohio residents have permanent access to state and federal documents. The Catalog Services Department ensures that physical and digital content is ready and available for patrons to access.

Name Title Phone Email

Ann Watson

Associate State Librarian for Library Services

(614) 728-4988  awatson@library.ohio.gov
  Tracy Grimm Manager, Circulation & Special Services (614) 728-5475  tgrimm@library.ohio.gov
Mary Banks Library Assistant (614) 644-6887 mbanks@library.ohio.gov
Patrick Betts Circulation & Special Services Library Assistant (614) 644-6857  pbetts@library.ohio.gov
David Daiber Library Assistant (614) 387-1189 ddaiber@library.ohio.gov
Paul  Seedhouse Library Assistant (614) 644-6956  pseedhou@library.ohio.gov
 Larry Walls Library Assistant (614) 995-9363 lwalls@library.ohio.gov
  Nicole Merriman Manager, Research & Catalog Services (614) 995-4117 nmerriman@library.ohio.gov
Kathy Hughes Lead Cataloger (614) 728-8320 khughes@library.ohio.gov
Josh Jones Reference/Cataloging Librarian (614) 387-1185 jjones@library.ohio.gov
Shannon Kupfer Digital Initiatives Librarian (614) 995-4115 skupfer@library.ohio.gov
Elissa Lawrence Reference/Cataloging Librarian (614) 995-4111 elawrence@library.ohio.gov
Stephanie Michaels Reference/Cataloging Librarian (614) 995-9359 smichaels@library.ohio.gov
Phil Willke Electronic Resources Librarian (614) 369-4038 pwillke@library.ohio.gov

Information Systems & Technology (IS&T)

The IS&T Department supports the technology needs of State Library employees, as well as providing assistance with many programs and services that the agency offers to state employees and the Ohio library communities. Some of the services and resources that the department supports includes: the State Library catalog and facilitating access to OhioLINK shared resources.

Name Title Phone Email
Andy Ingraham Dwyer CIO & Supervisor, Information Systems & Technology (614) 644-6849  adwyer@library.ohio.gov
Reggie Dunlap Infrastructure Specialist (614) 752-8886  rdunlap@library.ohio.gov
Rebecca Hanshaw Network Services Technician (614) 728-8627 rhanshaw@library.ohio.gov
Peter Kukla Software Development Specialist (614) 441-0860  pkukla@library.ohio.gov
Eric Maynard Infrastructure Specialist (614) 752-9466  emaynard@library.ohio.gov
Statewide Resource Sharing/Help Desk Statewide Resource Sharing/Help Desk (614) 728-8627  helpdesk@library.ohio.gov

Serving Every Librarian (SEO) Center

The SEO Library Center is a branch of the State Library of Ohio. SEO administers a library automation consortium for 90 library systems, provides interlibrary loan and back–up reference services, manages one mobile computer training lab, and provides eBooks, Audio Books, Music, and Playaways, and public performance rights DVDs.

Name Title Phone Email

Dianna Clark

Director, SEO Library Center

(877) 552-4262  dclark@library.ohio.gov
Valeria Weaver Administrative Professional (877) 552-4262   vweaver@library.ohio.gov
Sharon “Sherry” Douglass Librarian Cataloger (877) 552-4262  sdouglas@library.ohio.gov
Misty Janusik Trainer (877) 552-4262  mjanusik@library.ohio.gov
  John Stewart Information Technology Supervisor (877) 552-4262 jstewart@library.ohio.gov
Cathy Bond Library Assistant (877) 552-4262 cbond@library.ohio.gov
Janice Bond Administrative Professional  (877) 552-4262 jbond@library.ohio.gov
Nicole Brown Library Assistant (877) 552-4262 nbrown@library.ohio.gov
Paula Clark Library Assistant (877) 552-4262 pclark@library.ohio.gov
Rebecca “Becky” Hill Library Assistant (877) 552-4262  rhill@library.ohio.gov
Brenda Michel Library Assistant (877) 552-4262  bmichel@library.ohio.gov
Robert “Matt” Motes Information Technologist (877) 552-4262 rmotes@library.ohio.gov
Michael Postlethwait Infrastructure Specialist (877) 552-4262  mpost@library.ohio.gov
Jamie Price Library Assistant (877) 552-4262  jprice@library.ohio.gov
Don Winland Infrastructure Specialist (877) 552-4262  dwinland@library.ohio.gov