February 15, 2017

The State Library of Ohio is pleased to announce the 2017 participants in ILEAD USA – Ohio. Teams, mentors, and instructors from Ohio have been selected for the year-long program. ILEAD USA is a multi-state program designed to help library staff understand and respond to user needs through the application of participatory technology tools, all while developing their own library leadership skills.  Wisconsin and Pennsylvania are also participating in this national initiative.

Sessions kick off in March and reconvene in June and October at Mohican State Park & Lodge in Perrysville, Ohio. These three in-person sessions will allow participants to hone their skills, experiment with participatory technology tools and continue communications with their ILEAD USA – Ohio cohorts.

Team participants will remain with their group throughout the program and are assigned a mentor. The role of the mentor is to keep participants motivated; offer expertise; and provide guidance and advice. Each team will work on a single group project that will address at least one identified need within their communities of users.

ILEAD USA – Ohio is made possible by the State Library of Ohio with federal funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, with additional support from the Kent State University School of Library and Information Science.

Program Manager

Evan T. Struble, State Library of Ohio


Captivating Librarians

Brooke Cox, Toledo Lucas County Public Library
Shawn Farrell, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Shelly Guerrero, Toledo Lucas County Public Library
Jeff Laser, Bexley Public Library
Phil Willke, State Library of Ohio

Team Vittles

Gregg Gassman, State Library of Ohio
Shane Hoffman, Plain City Public Library
Gina Maida, University of Mount Union Library
Kate McCartney, Marysville Public Library
Sarah Schaff, Denison University Libraries

Educate & Connect Zanesville

Lori Lee, Zanesville City Schools
Jennifer Myers, John McIntire Elementary School
Cory Roush, Muskingum County Library System
Blair Tom, Muskingum County Library System

Team United

Dana Bjorklund, Cleveland Institute of Art
Ashley Gahm, Marysville Public Library
Erin Kelsey, Westerville Public Library
Cindy Lindsay, Bexley Public Library


Chad Boeninger, Ohio University Libraries
Karl Colón, Greene County Public Library
Karen Miller, Bradbury Associates/Gossage Sager Associates
Christine Morris, OhioNET

Ohio Steering Committee

Cindy Boyden, State Library of Ohio
Beverly Cain, State Librarian of Ohio
Jen Johnson, State Library of Ohio
Missy Lodge, State Library of Ohio
Miriam Matteson, KSU-SLIS
Shelly Miller, OhioNET
Rachel Rubin, Bexley Public Library
Evan T. Struble, State Library of Ohio

For additional information, please contact Program Manager, Evan T. Struble, State Library of Ohio at estruble@library.ohio.gov or 614-752-9178.

Media Contact:

Marsha McDevitt-Stredney, Public Information Officer and Director, Marketing & Communications (614) 644-6875 marshams@library.ohio.gov