February 15, 2019

ILEAD USA – Ohio Participants Announced

The State Library of Ohio is pleased to announce the 2019 participants in ILEAD USA – Ohio. Teams, mentors, and instructors from Ohio have been selected for the year-long program. Sessions kick off in March and reconvene in June and October at Mohican State Park & Lodge in Perrysville, Ohio. These three in-person sessions will allow participants the opportunity to hone their leadership skills, experiment with participatory technology tools and develop a project to address an identified community need.

ILEAD USA – Ohio is a team-based library leadership program. Team participants will remain with their group throughout the program and are assigned a mentor. The role of the mentor is to keep participants motivated; offer expertise; and provide guidance and advice. Each team will work on a single group project that will address at least one identified need within their communities of users.

ILEAD USA – Ohio is made possible by the State Library of Ohio and OhioNET with federal funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Program Manager

Evan T. Struble, State Library of Ohio


The Bildungsroman Four:

Jessica Curtis, Westerville Public Library
Kellen Freeman, Delaware County District Library
Gillian Nance, Southwest Public Libraries
Rose Shaddy, Ohio Central School System

NEO Library Commuter’s Community:

Holly Kabat, Medina County District Library
Kalyn Kappelman, Reed Memorial Library
Forrest Kilb, Cleveland Public Library
Margaret Killman, Shaker Heights Public Library
Alison Leininger, Hudson City School District

Cultural Connections:

Danielle Bernert, Columbus College of Art and Design
Hilary Harlan, Bexley Public Library
Leann Schneider Webb, Bexley Public Library
Penelope Shumaker, State Library of Ohio

Tech To Go:

Natalie Amato, Cleveland Institute of Art
Katy Hite, Upper Arlington Public Library
Brandon Thomas, Columbus Metropolitan Library


Chad Boeninger, Ohio University Libraries
Karl Colon, Greene County Public Library
Karen Miller, Bradbury Miller Associates
Christine Morris, OhioNET

Steering Committee

Cindy Boyden, State Library of Ohio
Beverly Cain, State Librarian of Ohio
Jen Johnson, State Library of Ohio
Erin Kelsey, State Library of Ohio
Miriam Matteson, School of Information, Kent State University
Shelly Miller, OhioNET
Rachel Rubin, Capital University
Evan T. Struble, State Library of Ohio

For additional information, please contact:

Evan T. Struble: estruble@library.ohio.gov or 614-752-9178

Erin Kelsey: ekelsey@library.ohio.gov or 614-644-6889

Media Contact:

Marsha McDevitt-Stredney, Public Information Officer and Director, Marketing & Communications (614) 644-6875 marshams@library.ohio.gov