Floyd’s Pick

Floyd’s Pick is a book award developed by the Choose to Read Ohio (CTRO) Advisory Council and presented in memory of children’s literature expert, advocate, and librarian Floyd Dickman. It is given annually to a book written by an Ohio author or a book illustrated by an Ohio illustrator that is representative of high-quality literature created for children. This book will be one that Floyd Dickman would have enthusiastically promoted, and is to carry on the legacy of his work to support and share children’s literature in the State of Ohio.

The CTRO Advisory Council established Floyd’s Pick in December 2015 with a proclamation by Beverly Cain, State Librarian of Ohio. It was so named for Floyd Dickman’s penchant for promoting picture books and chapter books for children that he particularly loved and wanted to share by announcing them as “Floyd’s Picks”.

Since then, the CTRO Advisory Council has been tasked to select one outstanding book of Ohio children’s literature to be designated as Floyd’s Pick. This book is in addition to the 20 titles featured in the biennial CTRO booklist. Eligible books must fit the criteria and terms below. The author or illustrator must be an Ohio native or Ohio resident for at least five years (present or past).

A New School Year: Stories in Six Voices by Sally Derby, illustrated by Mika Song

A New School Year: Stories in Six Voices by Sally Derby, illustrated by Mika Song
(Charlesbridge, 2017)

“In a unique narrative, readers meet a diverse group of six children ranging in age from Kindergarten through fifth grade. With nerves and excitement each child gears up for a new school year by hustling in the morning, meeting new teachers and new classmates during the day, and heading home with homework and relief by day’s end.

Simple, bright illustrations focus on each child and his/her worries, hopes, and successes on the first day of school.”

Summary from Penguin Random House website

The Remarkable Journey of Charlie Price by Jennifer Maschari (Balzer+Bray/HarperCollins, 2016)The Remarkable Journey of Charlie Price by Jennifer Maschari
(Balzer+Bray/HarperCollins, 2016)

“A heartfelt, beautifully written novel of love, loss, and math—perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Sharon M. Draper.

Ever since twelve-year-old Charlie Price’s mom died, he feels like his world has been split into two parts. Before included stargazing and Mathletes and Saturday scavenger hunts with his family. After means a dad who’s completely checked out, comically bad dinners, and grief group that’s anything but helpful. It seems like losing Mom meant losing everything else he loved, too.

Just when Charlie thinks things can’t get any worse, his sister, Imogen, starts acting erratically—missing school and making up lies about their mother. But everything changes when one day he follows her down a secret passageway in the middle of her bedroom and sees for himself.

Imogen has found a parallel world where Mom is alive!

There’s hot cocoa and Scrabble and scavenger hunts again and everything is perfect . . . at first. But something doesn’t feel right. Whenever Charlie returns to the real world, things are different, and not in a good way. And Imogen wants to spend more and more time on the other side. It’s almost as if she wants to leave the real world for good. If Charlie doesn’t uncover the truth, he could lose himself, the true memory of their mother, and Imogen . . . forever.”

Summary from HarperCollins Publishers website

2016

Little Tree by Loren Long

Little Tree by Loren Long
(Philomel books/Penguin, 2015)

“For graduates, for their parents, for anyone facing change, here is a gorgeously illustrated and stunningly heartfelt ode to the challenges of growing up and letting go. A story of the seasons and stepping stones as poignant for parents as for their kids, from the creator of Otis the tractor and illustrator of Love by Matt de la Pena.”

Summary from Summary from Penguin Random House website

 

Floyd Dickman
Floyd Dickman

Floyd Dickman was a tireless advocate for children’s literature and librarianship. He had a tremendously positive impact on library and literacy services in Ohio and across the country. Floyd was a Library Consultant at the State Library of Ohio and retired in 1999 after 23 years of service. He is also remembered for his dedication to and enthusiasm for teaching and mentoring librarians and library science students. During his career he was awarded the Ohio Library Council Librarian of the Year award and was named Outstanding Friend by the Ohio Family Literacy Task Force. Floyd Dickman passed away in June 2015.

The CTRO Advisory Council established Floyd’s Pick in December 2015 with a proclamation by Beverly Cain, State Librarian of Ohio.

 

Whereas, Floyd Dickman was a founding member of the Choose to Read Ohio Advisory Board when it was established in 2008; and

Whereas, Floyd Dickman was recognized both in Ohio and nationally as an expert on and advocate for children’s literature; and

Whereas, Floyd Dickman worked tirelessly as an advocate for children’s literature and Ohio libraries;

NOW, Therefore, BE IT PROCLAIMED, that on this day, December 8, 2015, the State Librarian of Ohio and the Choose to Read Ohio Advisory Board wish to honor and recognize Floyd’s contributions to the Ohio library community by establishing a special CTRO title selection to be known as “Floyd’s Pick”, which will be selected annually, and will represent an outstanding title in Ohio children’s literature for that year.

January 22, 2016

Floyd’s Pick is an award given annually to a book written by an Ohio author or a book illustrated by an Ohio illustrator that is representative of high-quality literature created for children.  This book will be one that Floyd Dickman would have enthusiastically promoted, and is to carry on the legacy of his work to support and share children’s literature in the State of Ohio.

Criteria

Books will be considered for:

  • Child appeal
  • Engaging, authentic voice, avoiding didacticism
  • Ease of availability
  • Visual appeal
  • Accurate and balanced coverage of the topic, if an informational book
  • Originality of work
  • Intended audience must include children within the age range of 0-10. Eligible books can be intended for children anywhere in this age range. A book that also appeals to children older than 10 may be eligible, provided its intended audience includes children 10 or younger.
  • Date of publication falls within the given timeframe for the year being considered (October 1 – September 30 prior to the award year; e.g. eligible books for 2019 are published Oct. 1, 2017 – Sept 30, 2018).

Terms

  • One winner and up to 3 honor books may be selected.
  • Nominations and selected titles are determined by CTRO Advisory Council Members.  Titles being considered are published from October 1 of the preceding year – September 30 of the current year.  For example, titles eligible for the 2020 Floyd’s Pick award are published between October 1, 2018 and September 30, 2019.
  • Titles may be nominated at any time until October 10 of the year leading up to the award year.   CTRO Advisory Council members will meet to discuss titles in late October-early November to narrow the list to finalists; they will meet again to discuss and vote on finalists in early December.  Winners will be contacted in mid-December.  The winner will be formally announced in early January.
  • Floyd’s Pick is coordinated by the Choose to Read Ohio Advisory Council and administered by the State Library of Ohio and Ohioana Library.

Timeline

  • Year-round: CTRO advisory council members may nominate titles at any time. Nominations for the upcoming award year are open from October 1 of the preceding year through October 10 of the current year. For example, nominations for the 2020 award year are open from October 1, 2018 through October 10, 2019. Nominations for the 2021 award year are open from October 1, 2019 through October 10, 2020. There is a 10-day overlap in October when nominations are open for two award years. Publication date determines the award year for which a given title is eligible.
  • Late October – early November: CTRO advisory council will meet to discuss nominated titles, narrowing the list to a smaller group of finalists.
  • Early December: CTRO advisory council meets for final discussions and to vote for Floyd’s Pick.
  • Mid-December: CTRO advisory council notifies winner and honorees. Ohioana Library staff prepare to invite winner and honorees to Ohioana Book Festival for award ceremony, panel, and book signing.
  • January: Announce winner and honorees widely.
  • April: Present awards at Ohioana Book Festival.

Definitions

  • An “Ohio author or illustrator” must be an Ohio native or an Ohio resident for at least five years (either in the present or past).
  • Books under consideration must be published October 1 of the preceding year through